Chapter 1: Meanings of the First Nine Natural Numbers

First, let us look at the meanings of the nine basic natural numbers 1 through 9. No matter how many numbers there are under the sky, they are all made up of these nine numbers and 0.

The number 1 represents God the Father in the Trinity.

The root of the Hebrew word for 1 comes from a verb which means “to unify” — this indicates that what God cares for is the normal harmony between the Creator and His creation.

This number mainly has the following three levels of meaning:

<> Oneness: “… The LORD our God is one LORD.” (Deuteronomy 6:4)

<> Unity: “I and my Father are one.” (John 10:30)

<> Preeminence: “I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last.” (Revelation 22:13) The Greek words for both “the beginning” and “the first” derive from the same root which means “to be first.”

The number 2 represents God the Son in the Trinity. Its meaning also has three levels:

<> Separation: “And God saw the light, that it was good: and God divided the light from the darkness.” (Genesis 1:4)

<> Repetition: “And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death.” (Revelation 20:14)

<> Witness: “… in the mouth of two or three witnesses…” (Matthew 18:16)

The number 3 represents the Holy Spirit in the Trinity.

Because the number 3 is a spiritual and heavenly number, things of the heaven and in the spiritual realm are all connected with this number.

There is a saying, which goes like this: “three strikes and you are out.” Whether you believe it or not, all things and all events in heavens, on earth and in between are actually controlled by the invisible spirit of God.

The number 4 represents God’s creation.

In terms of common knowledge of physics, two points connect in a line, like a road between two places; three points form a 2-dimensional surface, like the sea; four points can be used to construction a 3-dimensional space, allowing vehicles to run, ships to travel and planes to fly — this 3D space can contain all things that are visible to our naked eyes.

However, the most important of all is that the number 4 points to the “living” created beings in heavens and on earth, including angels that were created in the first place, especially the fallen angels.

The number 5 represents the normal and intimate relationship between God and His created beings, just like the harmony between the thumb and the four fingers of our hand. This number especially speaks about believers’ free will to live and walk with God in Christ. Normally we give this number a special name called “grace.”

However, on the negative side of this number 5, it also helps us to understand the abnormal relationship between creation and the Creator. For example, beside the five wise virgins, Matthew chapter 25 also tells us the five foolish virgins. Another example is found in Luke chapter 16, where Jesus tells a parable about a tormented rich man in hell who has five unbelieving brothers on earth.

The number 6 represents all mankind because according to the book of Genesis, the males and females made after God’s image were created in the evening and morning of the 6th day.

Biblical language study tools tell us, the standard English concordant word* for the number 6 in Hebrew is “elate.” This implies that the new man coming out after the image and likeness of God on the 6th day is the result of God’s union with mankind which makes His created beings rejoice in spirit and feel like everything is made new.
* “Standard English concordant word” refers to a single English word that is closest in meaning to its corresponding Hebrew or Greek in the Bible. This work has been heralded and carried on by Concordant Publishing Concern since 1909.

The number 7 represents complete perfection as the root of the Hebrew word for 7 means “to be complete.” It brings all perfected people into God’s kingdom to enjoy eternal rest.

In all the creation naratives in Genesis, every day ends with “there was evening and there was morning” except for the seventh day. Therefore, the seventh day is quite different from God’s creation six days. The difference is, the seventh day may or do likely have some sort of association with the so-called “evening”, but once it connects with “morning” again it will never go back to the dark “evening” that is tied up to the first six creation days.

In addition, the number 7 also carries the meaning of “battle” in it. This indicates that for all those who want to enter into rest with God must go through a process of spiritual battling. To reninforce this truth, the Bible talks about “seven demons” and teaches that it is a must and a necessity to ward off the devil’s interference before a saint of the Lord can enter into a full rest.

The number 8 represents resurrection. This is the core concept that the Bible intends to proclaim. Biblical language study tools point out that the root of the Hebrew word for 8 comes from a verb which means “to shine.”

Right from the beginning Genesis shows us this: “And God saw the light, that it was good…” (Genesis 1:4) This light of the first day takes concerted action with the resurrected light of the 8th day one after another, repeatedly testifying what the Lord said: “I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last.” (Revelation 22:13)

It is worthwhile to mention that “the first day of the week” in the Bible not only refers to the seventh day but also points to the eighth day of the resurrection. In reality, the essence of the seventh day is the same as that of the eighth day—both represent a day with no connection whatsoever with the darkness of evening. In other words, both are associated with the “shining” broad light of day.

The number 9 represents the final conclusion because it is the last one of the nine basic numbers. In other words, it signifies the final resurrection moment for all humanity — what follows and is presented before everyone is the great, grand conclusion. This is like a TV series. No matter how long the whole show is, there is always the moment for the final conclusion.

At the same time, 9 also represents the final completion of the Holy Spirit’s work on the saints. Therefore, Paul shows us in the book of Galatians that one fruit of the Holy Spirit could have these nine tastes: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control — all these words are feminine, indicating that all new persons hidden in Christ have become a born-again new creation that has thoroughly put off the sin of arrogance and earthly lusts.

In terms of Arabic numbers, the inverted 6 becomes 9. Therefore, when an old man who puts his feet high up in the air has been turned upside down and becomes a new man who willingly honors God as his head, then God’s will and the work of the Holy Spirit are indeed made complete.
The above is taken from our first book “Numbers and Roots of Numbers in the Bible” in the 10-volume “End Time Series”.

Leave a reply 请留言

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>